That Man Hath Much Music in Himself

I’ve loved Jesper Kyd‘s sound for years now, my first noteworthy editing project was for my boy scout troop back in 2003, and I used more than one track from him to set the moods.

Psuedo-wasting time on Wikipedia today, I learned that he is responsible for more video game scores than I had been aware of, including a game called “Freedom Fighters”… a real time strategy that I have almost no interest in, but sought out the music for many years ago when it was released, drawn by the dark electronics meshed with moody choral.

His other scores (notably the Hitman games) of interest are a wonderful mesh of powerful strings and ethnic sounds, even huge choral pieces that found a place on my playlist next to the likes of Carmina Burana, ‘O Fortuna’ and James Horner’s “Charging Fort Wagner”. It’s that good.

I thought, then, that Jesper Kyd was too good for video games, though the line between film and gaming continues to slowly disappear, and his style and energy have found a strong market in the gaming industry.

Now, though, in the knowledge that ‘Freedom Fighters’, which has been described aptly as a very pumped up, dramatic, epic, Vangelis sound (vastly different from his hitman scores); is in his list of credits, I don’t think there exists a composer as effectively prolific and capable of such a broad range of emotions and flavors, in video gaming or film, today.

The man is also slated to score ubisoft’s ‘Assassin’s Creed’, which, in spite of having largely fallen away from my gaming hobby, and in spite of dubious subject matter, I am eagerly awaiting….

In any case, it should be a wonderful mix of Kyd’s work to date, a score that should be rife with dark, religious overtones, and subtle action ques, and expansive ambiance, and healthy dose of choral goodness.

Also, with Luc Besson producing a hitman film for release next year, and Jesper Kyd appropriately slated to score it, I’m predicting that he will catch the eye of big budget filmmakers, and will easily top the kind of semipassable ripoff crap that we’re getting from the likes of Tyler Bates.

I hope Jesper Kyd goes far. I hope I go far and can work with him someday.

Leave a Reply

